6L7 vari-mu compressor design

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vintagedreams

I am somewhat new to tube DIY stuff, but I have built my own solid state stuff and repaired tons of tube gear. Recently I dove into the Radiotron Designer's handbook...what fun! Anyways, I am working on designing a compressor based on 6L7s / 1620s, like the old Western Electric 1126s. Anyone have any experience with these? I am thinking I will use a 6H6 for the control voltage circuit, and 6J5s or 6SN7s for the output section.

How does the sound of the 6L7-based compressors compare to the Fairchild / Sta-level / triode based vari-mu stuff? I am under the assumption that using the 6L7s will cause there to be less issues with control voltage leakage?? I am considering paralleling the 6L7s to reduce noise and get more output. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
--Tim

take a look at the federal am864u schematic. May be some food for thought.

Its horrifingly basic but sounds stellar. Does in fact sound basic, but Id rather use one of those than an La2 at this point.

dave

take a look at the federal am864u schematic. May be some food for thought.
yeah that is a good suggestion ...

the am864 uses a pir of 6sk7's in push pull and and a 6sq7 and a 6sn7 ...
there is a rectifier tube too (5y3) but you might want to look into a solid state rectifier . i have heard this will yeild better results ...
but i'm not the expert here ...
ther is a lot of info on these federal units..
hope this was helpful
later
ts

I am assuming the output transformer is a gapped one for the am864u. Where would I get one of those?

Thanks,
Tamas