Mastering compressor.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ryanlikestorock

Hey there. This is my first post here.

I am a newbie to DIY audio electronics projects but am interested in dedicating a lot of time and effort into building a piece of gear that I can use in my audio mastering studio. Ideally, I'd like to start with a stereo compressor. Which model would you all suggest?

There seems to be a lot of information on the LA2a, but it seems to run in mono. Is there a standard plan for a stereo compressor unit out there, or is the common suggestion to just run two LA2as?

Thanks for all your help. Obviously I'm in the very early stages of what is probably going to be a huge project. I appreciate any help you can offer. I'm going to need it.

Hi Ryan!
Welcome to The Lab!
Post often.
It's free!
:grin:
Most folks take this as the pecking order:
1)George Masenberg
2)SSL
3)UREI 1176

And some people would say slide the Fairchild 670 in there for posterity, but that is a bear to DIY.
Those darn 6386's!
That darn Chicago output. Two Triad HS..'s and and two more HS..'s, and then a couple of A10's with 33 cans, geez!

There is a chap selling boards for the real simple SSL.
That's the way to go.
Save the LA2 for some awesome vocal compression. :guinness:

Thanks for your word of advice. I'll have a look around for those plans. Like I said, I've never done this before, but I'll be working with a friend who has a better understanding of electronics than I do.

Hi Ryan,

Welcome here!

The SSL-Clone project can be found here:

http://www.gyraf.dk/gy_pd/gyraf_diy.html

The pcb's can be found in the "black market" section of this forum..

Jakob E.