Idea for band bypass switches for Calrec EQ

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sonicwarrior

In another forum (synthesizerforum.de in german only, sorry) I came up with the idea for a band bypass switch for each of the 4 bands.

Pros:
- No need for a center detent 10k linear pot
- The center detent is usually not 100%

Cons:
- An additional switch (on the frontpanel)

Another user there who has way more knowledge about electronics suggested to to this the following way:

Solder a switch in series (corrected from "parallel") to the 5k1 resistors at pin 2 of IC 6A/8A/10A/12A (Schematic).

As I'm an electronics newbie:

Do you think this works?

I've done a search here before and look at the META pages for the Calrec EQ but didn't found something like that.

That won't do what you want... oh no. -What it will do is give you noise and righteous boost/cut!!!

-No, what you need is a switch in SERIES with the 5.1k resistor at pin 2 of each of the cascaded summing nodes. -Perhaps this is what you meant?

Keith

[quote author="SSLtech"]
-No, what you need is a switch in SERIES with the 5.1k resistor at pin 2 of each of the cascaded summing nodes. -Perhaps this is what you meant?
[/quote]

Oh sorry, that was a mistake in my translation. :oops:
(German "in Reihe" means "in series" not "parallel")

Cool. -That'll work then. -It may be nice to switch out summing nodes, but you can only do that in pairs, since each node inverts polarity. -For what it's worth, this is why some manufacturers allow switching in two mids or high & low bands as pairs... Of course to do this with the Calrec, you'd have to look at the sequence that the bands come in...

Keith

[quote author="SSLtech"]It may be nice to switch out summing nodes, but you can only do that in pairs, since each node inverts polarity. [/quote]