Mic Pre Workshopping...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matta

Hey Folks,

In an attempt to bring understand of outboard gear in the home studio and in true DIY spirit I'm hosting a free workshop at a local music store this weekend and putting together a power point presentation and will be dissecting mic preamps on a basic, informative level.

No mention of slew rates, compensation caps of feedback networks,a simple basic , easy to digest understanding of mic pres which I'm approaching from the level of an absolute beginner and have structured the proceedings as such and have the following topics.

What is a Mic Pre? (The Role of a Mic Pre Amp)
How does a Mic Pre Work? (Amplifying Sound (Op Amps), Levels Matching etc, Basic Circuits)
What is in a Mic Pre? (Transformers, Tubes, Solidstate (Discrete and IC, Class A/AB etc)
Using a Mic Pre? (Controls including Impedance, Pads, Polarity and +48V)
How to choose a Mic Pre (Colour, Sound, Mic + Pre Flavouring)

I'm trying not to get too technical and will be doing it in a block digram format, using the Universal Audio SOLO Tube and Discrete mic pres as my walk through, since they are readily available here and it is nice to show 2 pres that are build differently.

I have put together a diagram of an opamp, the basic schematic overview and detailed view of the an NE5532 amp as well as a Melcor DOA and have side by side photo to compare the 2 etc for the 'How does a mic pre work' part. But I am hitting a bit of block through in explaining why one over the other, or rather we people use DOA's and not just opamps/chips in designs.