[EDIT] I have built a PSU - and now TOO much volts

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

This is my first build
Bo Hansens 48v Phantom PSU...
The bottom one on this diagram..
http://w1.316.telia.com/~u31617586/#48%20volts%20phantom%20power%20supply
Can anybody give me any pointers...
SOrry no diagrams of my PCB - nothing to write on or load them

This is what I have done...
Created a PCB and installed all the components...
Got an male IEC inlet put a 250ma slo blow fuse it in and crimped some spades onto some wire and attached them to the live neutral and earth terminals of the IEC inlet
Put the other ends of the earth wire to the 0V out (I haven't built my box yet - in the end this will go to a chassis lug)
Put the neutral and live wires into the PCB and attached them to a transformer
The transformer is a 120-0 120-0 on the input and a 24-0 24-0 on the output
Following Mark Burnleys diagram of how to wire up a transformer..
On the PCB I made the folowing tracks...
Attached the neutral wire to the last 0 of the primary trafo - the live to the first 120v - then connected the middle 0 and 120 together

On the Secondary I connected the middle 24 to the middle 0 and took a feed from the last 0 to one of the ~ terminals on the bridge rectider
I took a feed from the first 24 and fed it to the other ~ terminal of the bridge rectifier

I also slightly changed the circuit by adding a 10k (actually measures 8.89k resistor from from the 48v rail to 0v - as the last section of the circuit) and then added a blue LED

Plugged a kettle lead I had from the garage (that came with some audio equipment) - it has a 5 amp fuse

Got out a cheap digital multimeter and started to gingerly use the probes..

Basically I am getting about 0.4-0.6 volts on the multimeter (I put the black probe to the 0V line) and poked around with the red probe