Ramped phantom power project

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barthman.de

I'm building a housing solution for 4 Telefunken V672 Mic/Line preamps. In addition to the preamps the housing includes a Telefunken N624 (24 V / 2 A) PSU.

I want to use this PSU to power a second preamp unit which I'll build later (also with 4 preamps). Now I need a second PSU for phantom power. Here in the forum I found two circuits which I've combinated (ramped phantom power and voltage doubling). Here is my circuit (to power one mic) and a photo of the prototype (to power 4 mics).

phantom.jpg

phantom3.jpg

Now my questions:

1. The PSU works fine (48 V on output ;-) but I'm a beginner in electronics so if somebody have improvment suggestions let me know before I grill my Neumann mic :?

2. The 2k7 resistor (1W) (R2) before the LED is very hot. (I can't touch it) The resistor value seems ok for me (48V-2,2V=45,8V; 45,8V/0,02A= 2.290 ohm; 45,8/2k7=0,017A*45,8=0,779W). Is this ok or is there a problem?

3. On some preamp designs there is a resistor (450 - 500 ohm) before the standard 6k8 resistors (see below). Which function has this resistor?

phantom2.jpg

Thanks for your reply.

(2) resistors run hot that close to their ratings (0.78W in a 1W resistor). It's no surprise you don't want to hold your finger on it. It sholdn't be a problem but overkill is not a bad idea (a 2W or 3W would be fine in that position).

Also, you could source a more efficient LED and run less current through it---that's a pretty inefficient way to have an indicator lamp.

(3) the function of the 499 ohm resistor is to provide a lowpass filter along with C10, to reduce the noise/hum that may be present in the +48V.

thanks for your answer.