Transformer for 1176 50 VA too much ??

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nik--

first hi to all at the new forum ! :grin: :grin: (after the recording.org prob. :twisted: :evil: )

do you think 50 VA torroid 2*24v is to much for the gyraf 1176 ??

I ordered 30 VA but I got a message that they are not availlaible for the next two month at my source (allready payed ...-:)

is it better to wait for the 30 VA version or can I take the 50 VA instead ??
both have the same price ? can there be problems due to a too big trafo (its 1A instead of 500ma) ?? more magnetic interference or hum ?

a short statement from "Jakob" would be great whats the wright wattage of the transformer (or between which values it should be for best results and possibly no hum or interference)

please let me know your opinnion..

Nik

I'm no expert, but I think you should be fine as long as the mechanical size of the transformer is the same. The 1176 will draw a set amount of current, having a larger VA transformer won't hurt the circuit as long as you use a proper fuse. As far as magnetic interference, I don't think you should encounter any problems because you are still drawing the same current as you would with a smaller VA transformer...

Am I right????

Ian

50VA toroids should work fine. You'll have lots of power for meter illumination :razz:

I actually think I have a 50VA toroid in one of the protos.. We use 2x24/50VA for our headphone driver boxes as well..

On the other hand, if you use standard EL-core in stead of toroid power transformers, you could run into trouble, as those has higher stray magnetic field with larger size cores.

Jakob E.

hi,
here's what mnats had to say about his dual mono G1176 build: