Melcor AML-27 Preamp questions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jho-audio

Hello,

I just bought two Melcor AML-27 preamps off of ebay, listed as line amps but they seem to have input trannies. Anyone familiar with these preamps? I did not get a pinout or schematic with the cards but they look almost identical to the 312 cards but with a different pin config and a 1731 doa.

I am looking for the pinout if anyone has them or for some help in identifying the pinout. If anyone is interested I can post pics.

As well, thanks to everyone here for such an amazing resource. I finished my first project yesterday, ssl comp with chefs amazing boards, powered it up and recieved immediate satisfaction. Pics comming as soon as I finish a chassis for it. two 1176's half filled, g9 half filled :grin:

I am a newbie and a diy addict.

:guinness:

Cheers, Jason

Hi guys,

I scored five of these just as the first of these started showing up on ebay about a month ago. I also got the rack for them with the connectors and connections intact! And best of all, I got them all for free!!!!!! :green:

I traced the pinout, but I'll have to find it amongst all my other crap. Give me a day and I'll post what I found. :thumb:

Jeff

So here's what I found.

Oh, also I emailed the guys at Glenford Sales, the guys selling the cards on ebay. Paul Cohen over there was kind enough to email me a schematic that they drew up that confirmed what I found. If anyone wants a copy let me know.

First what I traced on the board, then what the connections are at the connector.

What I traced:

Pin 1=output xfrmr Green
Pin 2=output xfrmr Orange
Pin 3=output xfrmr Yellow
Pin 4=com
Pin 5=input xfrmr Yellow
Pin 6=input xfrmr Orange
Pin 7=input xfrmr Red
Pin 8=input xfrmr Blue
Pin 9=com
Pin 10=opamp input negative
Pin 11=n/c
Pin 12=opamp output
Pin 13=Vneg
Pin 14=com
Pin 15=Vpos