Condenser Element Project

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pounder

Hello
Yesterday I began work on a condenser element following the paper written by R.Williamson. I am an Acoustic Engineer but in the field of underwater acoustics and use gold deposition on stretched membranes in a variety of our underwater sensors. With this in mind I read the R.Williamson paper with great interest and began machining the backplate & shell and golded the required material ready for use as the membrane. I am expecting to have the element finished by the end of the week (I am only doing this when I have time at work)
My problem is the circuit given with the R.Williamson paper. I am not an electronic engineer and began the project with in an interest in the effect of the backplate, hole positions and sizes and also materials used.
I was hoping somebody could help me with a simpler circuit to use with my completed element, I was hoping for something without a tube that I can just use with phantom power.
I really hope you can help.
Regards
Adam

Hi Adam,

Welcome to the forum. There are a lot of people here, myself included, who would love to see how you get on with this project. Capsules are a bit of challenge, and it's always nice to see when someone takes the plunge.

In terms of simple circuits, I would point you to this discussion. A lot of people have built something like this circuit.

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=2357.0

The 'schoeps' circuit mentioned is here
http://www.xaudia.com/xaudia/Schematics/Pages/Schoeps_Sony_files/Media/Schoeps/Schoeps.jpg

and a version by MXL is here

and
This one from Neumann is also worth a look...

That should get you started. Might also be worth joining the mic builders group at Yahoo.