My new DIY article: SM57/58 filter (for flat response)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rossi

As some of you may know, I make my living mostly as a writer/reviewer.

The current issue of Sound & Recording Magazine, Germany, has an article on building a little passive filter that irons out the presence boost in the Shure SM57 and/or SM58. Which I think makes them more versatile and certainly more EQ-friendly.

My article is in German, of course, but the circuit is really simple, so it's not too hard to put together, even if you don't understand the accompanying text.

You can download the complete article from the magazine's website: www.sound-and-recording.de/smfilter

The small print: For your private use only.

Dear German-speaking readers: If you like the article, please buy the magazine. The print media need your support.

SM-Filter57freq.png

thanks!!  nice simple circuit . 8) 8) 8) :-* no reason not to put one together and try it. i need a break from troubleshooting my two current non working projects :(

Just a few remarks, if you can't read German:

The cap(s) should be polypropylene, I wasn't satisfied with how the polyester ones sounded.

The two inductors are in humbucking configuration. If you experience hum, reverse one of them. If you can't get the inductors specified, you have to factor in their DC resistance. The original inductors are 105R each, if I remember correctly.

Thanks for that , I had always wanted to see your ribbon preamp article as well

this filter will be different for shure's modded for no output xfmr ?

I have read the article and I have to say I am shocked. Some poor little girl has been traumatised by a man who violated her Hello Kitty tin :D

Cheers

Ian