Audio Transformer Inductance

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ruffrecords

It has long been clear to me that most audio transformer manufacturers are rather lax in publishing full specifications for their products. This makes it hard for designers to select a transformer, especially if there are two apparently identical transformers available from different manufacturers at very different prices. You expect to get something extra if you pay extra but it is not clear just what that is - is it some nebulous improved quality or just better shielding or lower distortion or what?

As a designer I know that one of the key transformer parameters that manufacturers rarely quote is the primary inductance, which has a profound effect on low frequency response and also a significant effect on the transformer's manufacturing cost. So I have shelled out some cash and purchased a decent LCR meter and tested as many audio transformers as I can get hold of. The results of theses tests are in the attached pdf file. I have a couple more transformers coming my way soon so I'll update the document when these have been tested and if anyone wants to loan me one of their favourite or not so favourite transformers to measure I would be more than happy to oblige.

Cheers

Ian

Edit: 5th Feb, updated document to include groupdiy members results.
Edit. 11th June 2012 corrected OEP information by Mathis D.
Edit:17th June 2012, added mouser transformer info provided by NY Dave

Attachments

• TransformerInductance.pdf
    51.4 KB · Views: 490
Thank you Ian.  I haven't seen such a concise explanation anywhere else.  I guess I haven't read everything out there, but I've tried.

Maybe I missed it, but what frequency are you measuring L at?

Test conditions not specified except the meter brand/model.