Newbie questions on Peter C's Green Pre

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matta

Hi Guys,

I've been hanging around this board for about a month with the odd post here
and there. I am a total Newbie to electronics and building my own gear, but
I'm thinking about getting my feet wet with a build of 2 of Peter C's Green
Pres. I believe from reading they are easy to do and pretty cheap. The other
bonus is Peter lives here in South Africa and I know the parts are readily
available having spoken to him.

I guess my main concern is that I am a total Newbie. I've seen Kev's pages
on the Pre and it is informative but they are for an older version of what
Peter is selling now (I plan to buy 2 of his PCB's). Has anyone else built
the current PCB version that didn't know jack about electronics?

You guys seem very helpful and time and again I've seen people help out
others who get stuck and this sense of community is really encouraging. I
guess my fear is not knowing enough to build them. I've read over the
various Metas but just don't know where to start, i.e a site that explains
how the resistors and caps work (although Kev's page helped alot, thanks
Kev) but maybe I don't even need to know this to build this project and will
learn as I go along?

Can you solder on a cap or resistor the wrong way round? And how do you know
which is the right way round? The PCB board looks really well labelled and
the parts list describes which each part is which, but what if I solder it
on wrong and blow something up?

I'm sorry for the long post, any words of encouragement would be most
helpful, along with any comments from Newbies that took this on as their
first project.

Thanks

Matt

Hi Matt,