Oh no.... another newbie!!! : )

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Not_So_New

Ok I posted these same questions over at Gearslutz and Kev (in a very round about way) pointed me here.. :thumb: Thanks Kev!!!

Sorry for the long post....

I think when you do something for so long it is easy to forget how much you take for granted and you might find it surprising how little people outside of your group actually know about what you do. DIY looks like black magic to many people, I am not scared of it but I also feel really lost. Baby steps are what I need I guess.
Okay here goes? I have never done a DIY project before. I am very mechanically inclined and I have done wiring jobs before but nothing on a circuit board.

My goal is to make an SSL buss compressor, I have seen the schematic posted.
So here are my questions.

What do I need to know before I start. I vaguely remember from years back how to read a schematic but I don?t remember much if anything now. What do I need to know to begin??

Do most DYI projects come with step by step instructions or do you have to wing it??

How hard is it to make something, can a novice follow instructions and got the job done??

Say you are working a few hours a week after work, how long to get a finished product, weeks, months, years maybe?? I know this is all relative to my speed and accuracy but, you get the idea.

Were do you find parts?? I assume some things are going to be Radio Shack off the shelf and some are going to be special order.

What kind of cost is there to the SSL comp??

We are playing with current here, should I be worried about it if I follow instructions??

I can guess that an SSL buss compressor is pretty complicated for a first project, think a newbie can handle it or should I start smaller??