My first schematic.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hi there,

So I've drawn up my first schematic. It's basically an api-style pre, based on the seventh circle a12 pre and other info from this board. I botched a kit, so basically I'm doing this to salvage some parts and build a pre from scratch. I'm no designer though, so I'm wondering if anyone might take a look and see if there's anything blaringly ridiculous, except for the absense of a gain pot.

I have a rev log 10k audio pot coming from John Hardy, but I'm at a loss for exactly where to put in the schmatic. Any ideas? It seems that most of the pots I see are wired between the gainstages to ground, but here I'm not sure. In fact, I'm not even sure if that previous statement makes any sense!

So here it is. If you have a second to browse it, I'm eternally grateful. And by the way, the bottom is barely cut off...it should say -18v B-
Also, I just caught the capacitor with no value off the negative input of the 990c. I've got it at 220pF.

(thumb is now located a few posts down).

Thanks!

kelly

Edited for mistakes...

Thanks Mark, I think I figured it out. Or I should say, Aurt figured it out.

Thanks everybody,

kelly

Here goes:

Thanks Brad,

Yeah, the resistors aren't shown. They're basically coming in from the keith's ps schematic.

Thanks!

kelly

Also---you don't appear to have anything to speak of setting the closed-loop gain of the 990C---it's just a fancy op amp iirc. You need some resistive feedback network, to wit a feedback R from output to - input and another R from - input to ground to set the gain.

Thanks again, Brad. And I'm glad my girlfriend was here to interpret "to whit" as "for example." :grin: Brad, just out of curiousity, is there any sort of value you would suggest for the pot? Most notes I can find point to a 10k feedback resistor and a 10k rev. log pot.