R. Williamson capsule

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gus

Anyone build the R. Williamson capsule design? "A Professional Condenser Microphone"

I have the brass piece and plastic outside gluing up with some JB weld now. I am making it a little different (building it with what I have) than the article. I want to use a washer to set the skin to back plate distance and maybe change the blind holes to adjust for a closer skin to backplate distance.

I noted it kind of looks a little like the Sony C37/c800(not g) capsule.

Anyone measure the c37 capsule?

I am not expecting much this is my first attempt at a capsule build so I started on something easy. I used my Seig lathe and my small taig lathe I think I am going to machine the Taig Al jaws for holding capsules for the final cut before lapping.

Tim or Dale Any guess at the tuning of the skin? I am thinking about 1,200hz because of no center term but it seems to be more like a neumann style so maybe 1,200 is to high?

Sweet! Good luck, Gus!

What are you using for diaphragm material? Au or Al coated? How thick? I've wanted to try my hand at making a capsule for a long time, but the Au evaporation process scares the crap out of me and my wallet...

Peace,
Al.

[quote author="asm"]have you seen dale1176's gold depositing thread? sick stuff[/quote]

Oh yes... That's how i know there's no way I can do it! :green:

Peace,
Al.

I can run some diaphragms off for people, but it's when I get time to run some - I usually do a batch every month or two. Doing up 2 to 6 skins for a few people is no big problem. Getting the system leak-free is very frustrating so unless you are going to do tons of diaphragms, the best bet is to get someone with one of these setups to do it.