Old Mod, New(ish) Mic?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OneRoomStudio

GDIY Supporter
Hi,
I'm new to mic mods/DIY audio projects, and I want to try a reletively easy/cheap/fun mod that will result in a mic I can really use for a long time. I've settled on the Royer/Mojave MXL 2001 mod, but I have a few questions about it I was hoping one of you could answer. First of all, is the MXL 2003 similar enough to substitute? If so, I think the 3 micron diaphram would be a big improvement over the 6 micron one the 2001 has, and the resulting mic could be pretty impressive. Secondly, does anyone know of any way I can get a hold of the mod kit aside from ordering it direct from Mojave? On the Mojave website it says that they were thinking about distributing the kit to pro-sound stores, and that the street price might be less than the retail listing on the Mojave website. I'm just a poor college student and need to save all the money I can, so any savings on the retail would be great. Thanks to everyone, and sorry if this isn't a verry interesting post, but I need to start somewhere.

*kkkkkkkk*

As to the MXL2003.....
paging gus.... paging gus.....

sit tight, and gus will be right with you. :green:

As to the royer mod, the parts are readily available, the only expensive part is the transformer ( if you go with the Jensen JT-DBE), some may be able to suggest a lower cost alternative.

I did mine on perfboard, and it turned out great:

changage to urlage:
http://www.shinybox.com/diy/royer/royer1.jpg

pm me your email, and I can fill in some details for you.

ju

The mod will certainly work with that capsule, but I don't know if it will be much better or worse than the 6 micron - might be a subjective thing. If it's your first tube mic I think you will like the sound of either.