Linear power supply ideas

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi all, I've recently acquired an 80VA, 25v with ct output transformer. I'd like to hear your opinions and ideas to make the most out of its rather rustic casing by converting it into a linear power supply. For your information, I have a limited degree of understanding with regards to lps designs with monolithic regulators so I intend to keep the design relatively simple.
My main objective with this transformer is to literally squeeze every bit of power that I can get out of it, this is also important because I know that any excess power/voltage is transferred into heat which is what I want to avoid given that its got limited space and I intend to just bolt the regulator to its chassis wall. My question here is whether it's wise to use an 18v or 24v regulator with this transformer? The primary can be wired from 200-250v and heat is my main concern here.
Beyond that, I'd like to hear some practical experience from you when it comes to picking regulators, rectifiers and a circuit, as far as I can tell, 78xx would be a wonderful monolithic regulator to use, but I'd like something with more current capabilities seeing that 80VA would be quite a waste just to output 1A/1.5A. I know nothing about rectifiers so I probably need information as to why people specify fast recovery (?) diodes for that purpose. As far as my reading goes, voltage regulation starts to be less effective with high current devices so my question is what circuit should I integrate with that in mind?
Finally, a lot of audiophile LPS use tons of capacitor which I think add the total capacitance to the tens of thousands of microfarads, far more than what manufacturers specify, some also use inductors to regulate noise whilst manufacturers also don't necessarily specify, I just wanna ask about your opinions on this too!