JCM 800 Preamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amled87

I'm in the process of acquiring the components to hand wire a JCM 800 style preamp to use with the Return input (phase inverter/power amp) of my DSL 40C.

A couple notes :
1. I am new to circuit design and layout.
2. I have basic knowledge and the understanding of schematics, adequate soldering skill.
3. This is in no way meant to replace a 3000$ amp, if I wanted a JCM 800, I'd just buy one. The end goal here, is to learn the ins and outs of the circuit, proper layout and schematic design.

Now, to the point. I am planning on using just the preamp section of a JCM 800 which includes the V1b&V1a gain stage, V2a gain stage and the cathode follower driven tone stack on V2b, which would be sent out to another amps phase inverter/power amp.

However, since I'm only using the preamp section, I don't see much need for a power transformer. So, would there be any upside to using one versus using a voltage doubler to provide 230/240vdc to the 12AX7 stages and using ohm's law to calculate a voltage divider to provide the heaters with 3.13v wired in parallel?

With proper filtering and smoothing caps, I don't see having a stable 200-240vdc for the tube stages being an issue nor the 3.13vdc parallel heater voltages either. Besides, price is definitely questionable as I could build the voltage doubler/divider for alot less then a quality power transformer.

I'd love to hear any insight, or ideas. This will be mounted in a 15"x7"x3" Hammond enclosure.

Galvanic isolation and limiting from the low source impedence of the mains vs a situation where chassis (hopefully) ends up at more or less ground potential ?