using a letter punch for front panel labeling

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtw

Greetings,

I'm thinking of using letter punches to label up a front panel on the 1290 pres I'm working on.

Would it be better to use aluminum or steel for the panel?

Once I have the letters punched, I was thinking I could paint over the letters then buff the panel with steel wool so that the paint remains in the embossed parts. I've never worked on a front panel before so I have no idea if this would actually work.

Thanks!

-mtw

I've been tempted to try this on a few things, but have not yet. Cheap enough to get the stamps, practice for a looooong time on some scrap. it will be slow going, I think.

At the very least I would mask off the labeled areas with tape to prevent accidental scrapes from runaway dies. I've been hunting around to see if anyone makes a jig, and found a British company that makes one, but they want £91.00 :!: and it's designed to make tags for horticultural use.

I wonder if I could make my own with a couple pieces of wood. At least that would help with the horizontal alignment....

Ultimately I don't mind if the letters aren't perfectly aligned, sometimes I dig the rough around the edges look.

[quote author="Lo-Fi"]ive done this type of labeling for years.

i am the chief builder of a boutique pedal company...

here's some examples... maybe this will help

(the bottom one is the best example):

http://www.in-visiontech.com/products.htm[/quote]YES!! This is almost exactly what I had in my head.

I had also thought of making small labels to affix to the case. Have you punched into anodized aluminum or tried to paint the labels? I assume you are using garden variety rivets to keep the labels stuck to the boxes?

it's labor intensive, but here is the procedure: